Sep 262014

At the end of this month, Nashville scuzz-rockers JEFF The Brotherhood are releasing their EP Dig The Classics, a carefully curated collection of covers. The real-life brother duo has released three tracks for streaming off the upcoming EP: Pixies‘ “Gouge Away,” My Bloody Valentine‘s “Come In Alone,” and the Wipers‘ “Mystery.”

Brothers Jake and Jamin Orrall bring each of the songs to a heightened version of the original. In their rendition of “Come In Alone,” the duo opts for psychedelic droning guitars, layering sonic terrains much like My Bloody Valentine would, whereas in their take on “Gouge Away,” they bring their signature garage sound and hysteric and yelping vocals.

The only three off the EP we haven’t heard yet are their takes on Beck, Colleen Green, and Teenage Fanclub, but if they are anything like these three, we are in for a groovy time.

(via Stereogum)

(via Brooklyn Vegan)

(via SPIN)

Dig The Classics will be released on Sept. 30th via Infinity Cat Records/Warner Bros. Check out more from the Nashville duo on their official website.

Cover Me is now on Patreon! If you love cover songs, we hope you will consider supporting us there with a small monthly subscription. There are a bunch of exclusive perks only for patrons: playlists, newsletters, downloads, discussions, polls - hell, tell us what song you would like to hear covered and we will make it happen. Learn more at Patreon.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>