Aug 102011

Who would have guessed 2011 would be the year of Buddy Holly? We’ve already seen one all-star tribute album and now we’re gearing up for a second. Despite its godawful cover, Listen to Me: Buddy Holly boasts an intriguing roster. The artists lean a little older than the Rave On Buddy Holly set, but Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump proves an exception to that rule. He also delivers our first listen to an album cut.

Anyone expecting a Fall Out Boy-style punky reimagining on his version of “Everyday” will be disappointed. Xylophone, tuba, and Stump’s inimitable falsetto soundtrack this gentle pop ballad. Stream the tune over at, then check out the just-released track listing below.

Listen to Me: Buddy Holly Tracklist:
01. Stevie Nicks – Not Fade Away
02. Pat Monahan of Train – Maybe Baby
03. Brian Wilson – Listen To Me
04. Imelda May – I’m Lookin’ For Someone To Love
05. Jackson Browne – True Love Ways
06. Cobra Starship – Peggy Sue
07. The Fray – Take Your Time
08. Ringo Starr – Think It Over
09. Chris Isaak – Crying Waiting Hoping
10. Linda Ronstadt – That’ll Be The Day
11. Jeff Lynne – Words Of Love
12. Lyle Lovett – Well All Right
13. Natalie Merchant – Learning The Game
14. Patrick Stump – Everyday
15. Zooey Deschanel – It’s So Easy
16. Eric Idle – Raining In My Heart

Cover Me is now on Patreon! If you love cover songs, we hope you will consider supporting us there with a small monthly subscription. There are a bunch of exclusive perks only for patrons: playlists, newsletters, downloads, discussions, polls - hell, tell us what song you would like to hear covered and we will make it happen. Learn more at Patreon.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>