Jul 122011

Last we heard about The Green Album, We Are Scientists were covering the whole Weezer album in Brooklyn. Now there’s a new “Green Album” on the scene though, a Muppets tribute that promises to be something special indeed. Our first glimpse at it comes from My Morning Jacket, performing “Our World,” a song from the 1977 Christmas special Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas. You can listen to it over at SPIN.

“Every December, my friend Cara and I would camp in her basement, furiously running through channels on the old slider cable box, passing time until the next showing of Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas,” bassist Tom Blankenship said. “It deserves to share legendary status with Rudolph, Frosty, and Charlie Brown [holiday specials].”

Listen to My Morning Jacket’s “Our World” over at SPIN.

Muppets: The Green Album Tracklist:
01. OK Go, “Muppet Show Theme”
02. Weezer and Paramore’s Hayley Williams, “Rainbow Connection”
03. The Fray, “Mahna Mahna”
04. Alkaline Trio, “Moving Right Along”
05. My Morning Jacket, “Our World”
06. Amy Lee, “Halfway Down the Stairs”
07. Sondre Lerche, “Mr. Bassman”
08. The Airborne Toxic Event, “Wishing Song”
09. Atreyu’s Brandon Saller and Good Charlotte’s Billy Martin, “Night Life”
10. Andrew Bird, “Bein’ Green”
11. Matt Nathanson, “I Hope That Something Better Comes Along”
12. Rachael Yamagata, “I’m Going to Go Back There Someday”

Cover Me is now on Patreon! If you love cover songs, we hope you will consider supporting us there with a small monthly subscription. There are a bunch of exclusive perks only for patrons: playlists, newsletters, downloads, discussions, polls - hell, tell us what song you would like to hear covered and we will make it happen. Learn more at Patreon.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>