Listen: R.E.M.’s Fan Club-Only Christmas Single

The concept of the “fan club” has faded in the age of the Internet. It’s called Twitter, people! However, if you’re an R.E.M. fan, you might want to join theirs. Every year they send out a new holiday single exclusively to club members. Last year saw them singing Lenny Kaye’s “Crazy Like a Fox” and “Santa Baby.” This year keeps the holiday-romance theme going with Darlene Love‘s classic “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home).”

“Christmas” sees Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and the Minus 5’s Scott McCaughey create their best Wall of Sound. They don’t disappoint. Like last year, R.E.M. alum Billy Berry returns on drums. Plus, half the R.E.M. office pitches in on backing vocals (and someone’s playing those sleigh bells). Listen below. Thanks to the good folks at the Murmurs forum for help with the creidts.

It also includes “IHT>U>EDIYTW (Dubmix),” an instrumental mix of three tracks from their upcoming album (which, for the sake of thoroughness, we have below too). Presumably, these are “It Happened Today,” “Uberlin,” and “Every Day Is Yours to Win.” (via R.E.M.HQ)

R.E.M. – Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) (Darlene Love cover)

Mike Mills Guitar, Bass, Percussion, Tenor Sax, Vocals and Piano
Peter Buck, 12 String Guitar, 6 String Bass
Bill Berry, Drums, Percussion and Backing Vocals
Scott McCaughey, Glockenspiel, Bass Harmonica and Mellotron
Chorus: Rachel, Paige, Jessica, Aidan, Cybele, Kevin, David and Mercer

R.E.M. – IHT>U>EDIYTW [dubmix] (Variations from the forthcoming album ‘Collapse
Into Now’)

Peter Buck, Mike Mills & Michael Stipe

Check out more R.E.M. at their website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. That reminds me. My copy of their fan club mailing should be here soon. Let’s hope the mail man doesn’t fold it in half (inc the CD!) to get it through the letterbox this year like he did two years ago! Fragments of shattered CD don’t play with the same fidelity of the intact variety.

  2. Pingback: New R.E.M.: Christmas song and snippets from Collapse Into Now | One Thirty BPM

  3. Pingback: Listen: R.E.M. debuts new album mix, Christmas song with Bill Berry on fan club single | slicing up eyeballs // 80s alternative music, college rock, indie

  4. Pingback: Zwarte jas | New wave, punk, postpunk en alternatief jaren 80 nieuws » Blog Archive » Leden R.E.M. maken kerstsingle

  5. Great song, great cover., like U2’s. It’s that Wall of Sound. Anyone who’d f–k up this tune should NOT be recording.

  6. Pingback: New Christmas Tune From R.E.M. « 1059 SUNNY FM

  7. Pingback: Rock it Out! Blog » Blog Archive » Listen: R.E.M. – “Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)”

  8. Pingback: Merry X-Mas From REM « X-107.5

  9. Pingback: R.E.M. Records New Holiday Single « Radio 92.3

  10. Pingback: R.E.M. – “IHT>U>EDIYTW” (Variations From Collapse Into Now) - Stereogum

  11. Pingback: Vitaminic

  12. Pingback: R.E.M. Records Christmas Snigle from Phil Spector’s Catalog | Hear/Say: America's College Music Magazine - Blog

  13. Pingback: R.E.M.’s annual Christmas Single, Baby Please Come Home |

  14. Pingback: Listen: R.E.M. debuts Christmas song with Bill Berry, new album mix on fan club single | Rock Music Trends